Revelation of an Armorbearer – Chapter 1 – Notes from Margie

     One of the first books that all music staff is assigned to read when coming on board is “God’s Armorbearer” by Terry Nance.   It’s a short book but it’s filled with great insights that can help any christian.  I can truly say that one of the greatest privileges and responsibilities that I have as staff and as a choir member is being an armorbearer to Pastor Rion and Pastor J.  I’ve seen throughout the years how God has blessed me by being obedient to this call.  When I was first hired to work for Pastor J, there were times I wanted to do extra things in the office for him but thought maybe I would come across as a “mother hen”.  I did hold back at first, but then I felt God prompting me to do them anyway, so dismissed the thoughts of being a “mother hen” immediately and I have served joyfully ever since.

     In today’s society the term armorbearer is not even recognized and its attributes would probably not even be accepted.  Everyone is caught up with their own life.  The question everyone asks is “what’s in it for me?”  It doesn’t come natural for human beings to think of others first.

     As christians it is important that we understand the full concept of an armorbearer especially if we are involved in ministry.   

     The word armorbearer is listed eighteen times in the Strong’s concordance.  All references are found in the Old Testament.  As mentioned in this book, the word is translated from two Hebrew words.  The first being  “nasa” or “nacah” (naw-saw’) which means “to lift”.  Some applications are to:  accept, advance, bear, bear up, carry or hold up. The second Hebrew word is “keliy” (kel-ee’) which comes from the root word “kala” (kaw-law’) meaning “to end”.  Some of its applications are to complete, consume, destroy utterly, be done, finish, make clean.  Now that we’ve had our Hebrew lesson, we can see that the duty of an armorbearer was to stand beside his leader to assist him, to protect him from the enemy and my favorite -to lift him up.

     As part of the music ministry and part of this fellowship, we have been called by God and given the duty to be an armorbearer to our leaders.  Maybe you don’t consider yourself an armorbearer or maybe not really thought about it.  Take a moment and ask yourself these questions:

1.  Am I standing beside my leader?

2.  Am I protecting him from any attack?

3.  Am I assisting him?

4.  Am I lifting him up?

     Maybe you have been an armorbearer and you just haven’t put a title on it,  but if you’re not doing these things, don’t be afraid to serve and protect your leader.  God sees and rewards everything that is done for His servants.


About this entry